Bioresources Development Centres Nationwide

Brief History & Distribution of the Bioresources Centres

The Bioresources Development Centres (BIODECs) under the supervision of the National Biotechnology Development Agency (NABDA), Federal Ministry of Science and Technology are located at remote areas spread across Nigeria providing them access to untapped indigenous biological resources.

The First Bioresources Development Centre (BIODEC, Odi) was established in 2003 under the administration of President Olusegun Obasanjo for the development of biological resources for use in Agriculture, nutrition, health and industry of the nation. Over time since its inception, the Centre has proudly diversified its mandate of fulfilling the Federal Government planned agenda of food security, job creation, and development of manpower for steady development, just to mention a few. The Centre mirrored the Federal Government’s commitment to invigorate wealth creation and employment generation at the grass root level.

With the success recorded from the first Bioresources Development Centre (BIODEC, Odi), the Bioresources Centres rose to nine (9) distributed across the geo-political zones of the country.

Today there are twenty-five (25) Bioresources Development Centres strategically distributed across the country to discovery untapped and under-developed and under-exploited biological resources for biotechnology R&D and the collective development of the nation’s economy.